EnduroCross: Blazusiak Takes the Men's Championship - Shorai Sponsored Chantelle Bykerk Takes the Women's Championship

Shorai Endurocross Las Vegas Cody Webb


Blazusiak finished fifth to take the 2013 championship over Brown


Las Vegas, NV (November 23, 2013) – The 2013 GEICO AMA EnduroCross Championship, fueled by Monster Energy came down the final race and Taddy Blazusiak and Mike Brown engaged in an epic battle for several laps before Brown went down and ultimately finished ninth. Blazusiak finished fifth to secure his fifth consecutive championship. “That was probably the worst race in my life but it was all about me and Brownie” Blazusiak said. “We got together in the first turn and then again in the second turn and it went from race mode to crazy mode. We must have hit fifteen times but we got it done to win the fifth title” he continued.


Beta’s Cody Webb won the Vegas finale to take his third win of the season, more than any other rider. Webb missed one race due to a broken foot but still finished third in the championship. “I am ecstatic right now. I had a great season except for that little setback” Webb said. “The track tonight was insane but I loved it”. Webb crossed the finish line in eleventh on the first lap but quickly moved to fourth due to a huge pile up on the second lap that included Brown, Blazusiak and David Knight. Webb took his time passing Cory Graffunder, Kyle Redmond and Geoff Aaron and took the lead on lap six of twelve. He slowly opened up a comfortable lead and ultimately won by five seconds.


The battle at the front was tight after Blazusiak went down on lap two and handed the lead to Aaron, who held the point for five laps despite heavy pressure from Redmond. Aaron got held up by a lapped rider and then struggled to get going and ultimately finished sixth. Husqvarna’s Graffunder rode a solid race to work past Redmond on lap nine and finished second. “I got an OK start and I have had several third places so I am really happy to finally get a second”. Graffunder said.


Redmond battled with Aaron for several laps and then scrapped with Graffunder until a mistake dropped him a few seconds back but he finished the season strong with his first podium.


Rockstar/Lucas Oil JCR Honda backed Colton Haaker worked his way up to fourth after falling as far back as eleventh. He added some intensity to the championship battle when he caught Blazusiak and Brown and ultimately passed both of them cleanly. Haaker was closing on the lead group but ran out of time to move up any further.


Monster Kawasaki’s Taylor Robert finished seventh followed by Gary Sutherlin, Brown and Destry Abbott who rounded out the top ten.


Blazusiak finished the season with 146 points to take the title. Brown was four points back with 142 and Webb was another seven back with 135.


Las Vegas, Nevada GEICO AMA EnduroCross, Fueled by Monster Energy Expert Main Event results:

  1. Cody Webb                  Beta
  2. Cory Graffunder                        Husqvarna
  3. Kyle Redmond               KTM
  4. Colton Haaker               Honda
  5. Taddy Blazusiak            KTM
  6. Geoff Aaron                  KTM
  7. Taylor Robert                Kawasaki
  8. Gary Sutherlin               KTM
  9. Mike Brown                   KTM
  10. Destry Abbott                Kawasaki
  11. David Knight                  Sherco
  12. Eric Rhoten                   KTM
  13. Jack Field                     Christini


2013 GEICO AMA EnduroCross, Fueled by Monster Energy Expert Championship Points – Final

  1. Taddy Blazusiak            KTM                 146
  2. Mike Brown                   KTM                 142
  3. Cody Webb                  Beta                 135
  4. Colton Haaker               Honda               126
  5. Taylor Robert                Kawasaki          119
  6. Kyle Redmond               KTM                 106
  7. Cory Graffunder                        Husqvarna         105
  8. Geoff Aaron                  KTM                   85
  9. Gary Sutherlin               KTM                   79
  10. Justin Soule                  Kawasaki            78



Bryan Roper, a top American Trials rider won the MAVtv Junior EnduroCross Championship, which is a championship within a championship for riders that are 21 and under. He finished in a tie for 13th in the final points.


Rachel Gutish got her first ever GEICO EnduroCross win in the Women’s class. She outlasted Kristie McKinnon, who traveled all the way from Australia to compete in her first ever EnduroCross and finished second. Shorai Sponsored RPM KTM’s Chantelle Bykerk finished third and had already clinched the 2013 Women’s Championship at the previous race.


Twenty two year old Harrison Oswald won the Open Amateur class to earn the AMA number one plate. He was joined on the podium by seventeen year old Noah Kepple and fourteen year old Ty Cullins. So the young riders are quickly coming up through the ranks.


Kurt Nicoll won his third consecutive Vet 35+ championship. At the age of 49, he was one of the oldest rides in the class but is showing no signs of slowing down. Josh Adams rode a great race to finish second. Dirt Rider Associate Editor Adam Booth was in contention for the win on the last lap before a crash took him down but he recovered to finish third.


Jack Field won the AMA TrialsCross Championship. The Australian topped Ty Cullins and Phil Smage.


You can find the complete results at this link: http://endurocross.tracksideresults.com/liveresults.asp



For more information, please visit www.EnduroCross.com